click here to watch the video.“To This day”

“Wrap a cast around your heart and sign it ‘they were wrong’ ”


The other day we watched a powerful video called “To This Day”. It is made by an amazing poet named Shane Koyczan. Shane talked about his life, why and how he was getting bullied.  The quote above has motivated me and will stay with me forever.
I am a soccer player and I am really passionate about it. I wanted to go to this thing called “Tryouts”. It is where you go and show these coaches your skills, then if they call you a few days after then you have made it on their team. It is an honor to be on these teams because they are the highest teams in the league. So I decided to tryout for one of the teams. I was told that I have no talent and that I shouldn’t tryout because it will break my heart that I didn’t make it on. I was thinking in my room and considering not going. After I thought about it, I finally decided that I should go. I made the right choice because I did make it on. Since then I was never told that I couldn’t do anything. I took my time and when I was pushed down I slowly got back up.

In this Video, “ To This Day,” I got a lot of different messages. But I think the overall message is “Believe In Yourself”. I got this message because almost everything that he was talking about was about believing in yourself. For example, the quote at the top is saying to believe in yourself. “Wrap a cast around your heart and sign it they were wrong”. It is meaning that people say bad things to you to  try to bring you down. So when they say those mean things like “Retard, spaz, ugly, stupid...”. They will break your heart, so you just have to wrap a cast around your heart. Then you have to believe that they were wrong,then sign it, “They were wrong”. You have to believe in yourself.
From this video I learned a bundle. The two most important things I learned were to believe in yourself, and that my life isn’t terrible. I think that these things are really important. I think that the 2nd one is more important though. Everyone thinks that there life is terrible at some point in life. I have thought that, too. But once you watch this video you will change your mind. What Shane has gone through is just sad. No one my age should ever go through that, even me. But Shane did. The fact that he had to go through that just makes me mad. I don’t think that any kid should have to go through bullying.
The next time you think your life is terrible, look at it and think “Is it really?”




Leave a Reply.